top of page

New Orleans!

In late July, I undertook a very long solo drive to New Orleans. I made a stop on the way down and back, staying at a couple Airbnbs which were really very nice and inexpensive. On the way back I stayed in a former speak easy in Alabama! On the way down, I went straight south to hit up the Gulf. I hung out at the beach in Biloxi, Mississippi for a few hours which was a nice break from sitting in the car.

It wasn't the cleanest beach I'd ever seen, but I'm such a salt water nut that it worked for me. I frankly couldn't believe I had driven all the way to the Gulf of Mexico.

After Biloxi, I drove west a couple hours to NOLA, and the next day started festivities with The Gathering, the annual convention of International Society of Glass Beadmakers. It was a blast! They had special tours set up, and one of them was to the Louisiana State Museum (a special trip arranged to the attic!) and we saw Mardi Gras costumes of the past, as well as phenomenal beadwork. It was like being inside an Antique Roadshow episode.

The racks have a lot of vintage pieces. The larger costumes on display have very intricate and delicate beadwork and weighed a great deal. The last piece is a suit made of the blue tarps that people in NOLA used to cover their homes after Katrina hit. It was such a privilege to see these pieces.

We had the obligatory tour to Jackson Square, the French Quarter, Lafayette Cemetery #1, the Mississippi Rivier, and every night I toured the variety of oysters prepared differently. The food was amazing!

We also could participate in lectures and demos. I thoroughly enjoyed all the presentations. My favorite learning moment?

(Slide by Hayley Tsang, who did a fantastic demo on wranging silver glass to do what you want it to do.)

And of course there was a lot of shopping. The Bead Bazaar was the coolest shopping experience I have ever had.

I ended up with these pieces, in order:

Jari Sheese (bead and ring), Gail (a lampworker from England) lentil landscape, a Joy Munshower octopus bead, a gorgeous flower bead by my lovely friend Karen Gassaway, and an earring pair by the sweet and talented South African beadmaker Karen van Staden. I also picked up some glass and tools.

It was a great time, and I really enjoyed meeting friends I only know through social media. New Orleans was a fantastic city and I could see myself living there. I hope to go back someday soon (and eat all the etoufee!)


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page